Double Chocolate Banana Bread

The first thing I ever learned to bake was my great-grandmother’s banana bread recipe. As I’ve discovered more and more recipes I’ve found lots of different banana bread recipes. I love bananas in all forms and think that they are highly under-appreciated. Double Chocolate Banana Bread
This is an interesting take on banana bread that I just recently made.
http://blog.hostthetoast.com/double-chocolate-banana-bread-muffins-with-peanut-butter-drizzle/

I made a few variations to change it up a little. The original recipe makes 12 muffins, but I made it into a cake with a bundt pan. I baked it for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees. I added the granola because I had some that I wanted to use and I find that it adds an interesting extra crunch. I didn’t add the peanut butter drizzle because all I had was crunchy almond butter, which may not have spread as well. Also, I added a lot more chocolate chips than the original recipe because chocolate.

Ingredients
2 eggs
⅔ cup light (or dark) brown sugar, lightly packed
⅓ cup canola oil
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
3 overripe bananas (mashed)
⅔ cup nonfat greek yogurt
2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ cup dark cocoa powder
11 oz dark chocolate chips
1 cup of granola or nuts

Leave a Reply

