Chocolate Chip Almond Butter Muffins

It’s looking like a beautiful Saturday here.  It’s going to be in the low 70s and sunny, which is a nice break from the rain we had earlier in the week.  So far, I’ve done my normal Saturday routine which entails going over to the shopping plaza with the Safeway and picking up a few groceries (I needed chocolate chips for today’s recipe).  Then I went and sat at Noah’s Bagel shop and drank some coffee and read some of my latest Stephen King book.  Finally I made a stop at the pet store and bought some crickets for my toad, because toads need to eat too.  Mark Twain’s palate is a little different than mine and I don’t think he’d care for the recipe I made today.Image

Image

This is a favorite recipe of one of my former roommates (who will be known anonymously as Master Candidate Chowderberry).  I’m not sure where the original recipe came from, but I made a few modifications to the recipe I have written in hot pink on a batter-encrusted index card.

Ingredients:

2 cups All purpose Flour

1/2 cup Sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

3/4 cup Almond butter (or peanut butter)

1 egg

1-1.5 cups Almond milk (regular milk from any lactating animal works too)*

11 oz. chocolate chips

* The original recipe calls for 1 cup of milk, but I usually have to add more to have a smoother batter.  The type of milk you use probably affects how much to put in.

Mix everything together in one bowl, adding the chocolate chips last, after you’ve mixed the other ingredients into a smooth batter.  I got 18 muffins, but you can make less or more depending on how big you make them.  I baked them at 350 degrees for 18 minutes.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Almond Butter Muffins | Definitely Not Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

