Great Grandma’s Banana Bread

Today started pretty early because I had to proctor a final exam for a class that I am a TA for.  I’m not sure whose idea it was to have a final scheduled for Saturday at 8:00 am, but that’s neither here nor there.  When I got home I wanted to bake something that would be appreciated, but didn’t require much thought.  So, what better recipe than the the first one I ever learned?

This banana bread recipe was given to me by my mother, from my grandmother, from my great grandmother…or so the story goes.  It is obviously the best banana bread recipe around.  It’s easy and delicious too.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter (melted)

1 egg

3 bananas (mashed)

3 tbsp milk

1 tsp baking soda

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup nuts (I used almonds)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Farenheit.  Today I made muffins.  The recipe came out to 15 muffins and I baked them for about 18 minutes.  Check on them occasionally though while they are baking because every oven is a little different and baking time may vary.ImageImage

Leave a Reply

