Pound Cake

Hello all! It’s the weekend and it sure took long enough to get here this week. I’m happy today for my brother, who is graduating from college, but sad that I cannot be there at his ceremony. I’m anxiously waiting to Skype with him in a bit. In the meantime, it’s time to bake!

I had a request a few days ago from my roommate that I should make pound cake! I had never made it before and was pleased to see that there are a lot of recipes available and most of them have about six ingredients. After all, the origin of the name “pound cake” comes from the traditional pound of butter that goes into the mixing bowl. Any recipe with a pound of butter probably doesn’t need to include much else.

The recipe I used doesn’t have a full pound of butter, but still is very moist and delicious. I made some modifications to the original recipe I found here
http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sour-Cream-Pound-Cake/Detail.aspx?evt19=1

The comments suggested baking at 350 degrees instead of 375, which I did. Also, for this particular batch I used 6 oz plain greek yogurt instead of a 1/2 cup of sour cream and it worked out great. I also threw in a tsp each of vanilla extract and almond extract.

I did not have an 8×4 inch pan, so instead I made two 5.75×3 inch loaves and baked for about 30 minutes. The edges got a little burnt, but overall it was good. If I make this recipe again, I may reduce the bake time a little bit. I hope you all enjoy!
IMG_20140503_092414119

Leave a Reply

