Bread Pudding

So the other day I was at a different store than the one I normally go to.  I needed bread, so I bought a loaf that looked approximately like the kind I would normally buy.  I make a lot of sandwiches, but don’t really use bread for much else.

So, I got home, opened the bread bag, and took out two pieces of bread that were approximately 3/4 of the size of a normal piece of bread.  I quickly realized that this bread was not big enough to make regular sandwiches-maybe those mini hors d’oeuvres sandwiches you’d get at a fancy party or something…or a sandwich for a toddler.

I hate throwing out food, so I began looking for recipe that incorporated bread pieces (I figured I could feed it to the ducks if nothing else).  I found a lot of recipes for stuffing, bread crumbs, croutons, etc…but the only baking recipe I could find was bread pudding.

Whenever I think of bread pudding I always think about the scene from “A Christmas Carol” where Scrooge and the ghost of Christmas Present are watching the Cratchit family have their Christmas dinner.

Oh, a wonderful pudding! Bob Cratchit said, and calmly too, that he regarded it as the greatest success achieved by Mrs Cratchit since their marriage. […]Everybody had something to say about it, but nobody said or thought it
was at all a small pudding for a large family. It would have been flat heresy to do so.

Bread pudding turned out to be really easy to make and it was a big hit when I served it at church.

So God bless us every one!  Here’s the recipe.

breadpudding1 (1)

IMG_20150808_074816629

Leave a Reply

